Log in

Awards and Grants

Below is a list of the awards that local councils and individuals may apply.  

Individual Awards and Grants

-ALA members may nominate themselves or others for the following awards and grants:

Administrator in Reading Award

    • Deadline:  Must be postmarked by March 1.

Jo Flanigan Scholarship

- $500 scholarship awarded to further higher education study in reading or related areas.  


    • Deadline: Must be postmarked by March 1

School Based Literacy Grant Application

Up to $500 in grant monies is available for school or classroom projects.  

Contact Vicki King -

    • Deadline: Must be postmarked by February 1

Local Council Awards and grants

Local Council Honoree

One state conference registration is awarded to one member selected by each local council.  In addition, from the local council award recipients, one will be randomly selected to receive $500 to be use to attend the national ILA conference.  

    • Deadline: Must be postmarked by October 1

Local Council Literacy Grants

Ten Local Council Literacy Grants will be awarded on a first come first served basis from August 1 through Feb 15.  

For online forms click here: 

For a printable and mail-able form, click here.  The guidelines are also listed in this document.  An evaluation is required along with receipts following completion of the grant.  Failure to submit an evaluation will result in the council not being able to apply for future local council literacy grants.  

Proposals and/or questions should be addressed to

Local Council President's Diamond Award

Presented to Local Council Presidents that meet criteria and deadlines.  Contact

Membership Award

Presented to the top three local councils with the greatest percentage of increase in the ALA membership and the local council with the greatest percentage of increase in ILA memberships.  

Contact Kacy Barden, Director of Membership

    • Deadline: March 10

Celebrate Literacy

Local councils nominate three honorees who have made significant contributions to literacy in Arkansas:

From these council nominees, three state awards are presented.  Click here if you prefer the application in Word format.  
Contact Jill Fields, Chair   
  • Email applications to
  • Please put "Award" on subject line)  
    • Deadline:  Must be postmarked by January 15

Honor Council

ALA contributes $100 to each local council that earns ILA Honor Council status.  A quick check list has been added here but more detailed information is available through ILA.

ILA Awards  
(does not include all awards)

For information on the following awards click here.

The Exemplary Reading Program Award honors the school having an outstanding reading program.

    • Deadline:  December 15.  

The Nila Banton Smith Award gives $800 to a classroom teacher or reading specialist who has made an outstanding contribution in helping students become more proficient readers of content instructional materials. 

    • Deadline: January 15. 

The Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award honors an outstanding college or university teacher of reading methods or reading-related courses. 
    • Deadline: January 15. 

The Regie Routman Teacher Recognition Award honors an outstanding K-6 teacher dedicated to improving through reflective writing about his/her teaching and learning process.

    • Deadline:  January 15. 

The Outstanding Dissertation of the Year Award ($1000) competition is sponsored by Silver Burdett Ginn and Company. 
    • Deadline January 15. 

Technology and Literacy Award honors educators making innovative use of technology in the classroom.  

    • Deadline January 15. 

Address: 902 Golf View Drive, Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: (501) 940-1172

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software